NASCAR 15: Pre-Race Report: Daytona 500 – Analyzed SportsAnalyzed Sports – Analyzed Sports

Analyzed Sports


NASCAR 15: Pre-Race Report: Daytona 500 – Analyzed SportsAnalyzed Sports

February 22, 2015Archives, Racing

NASCAR 2015 Season: Pre-Race Report #1- Daytona 500

By: Trent A. Brinkley   February 22, 2015. Louisville, KY. (Analyzed Sports)

      Drivers start your engines! The 2015 NASCAR Season starts today with the 57th running of the Daytona 500. Actor Vince Vaughn will be the honorary Grand Marshall who will give the drivers the command signal to fire up their engines at 1:19 p.m., and wave the Green Flag at 1:31 p.m. The 2015 Daytona 500 has some great NASCAR story-lines, some of these story-lines include: 1) Today’s Daytona 500 marks the last Daytona 500 for Jeff Gordon who will be retiring after this season.  2) No Busch brothers (Kyle & Kurt Busch) will be in the Daytona 500 today, Kyle is out with a broken leg sustained in the XFINITY Series race at Daytona last night, and Kurt Busch was suspended by NASCAR on Friday; a Busch brother has been in every Daytona 500 since 2001.  3) NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver, Matt Crafton, will be filling in for the injured Kyle Busch today. This is Crafton’s first career Sprint Cup Series race, Crafton holds the record for the most consecutive Truck Series starts by an active driver. 4) Tony Stewart is 0-16 in tries of winning the Daytona 500, in fact, his first career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race was the 1999 Daytona 500. 5) Dale Earnhardt Jr. is looking to win back-to-back Daytona 500 races; this hasn’t happened since Sterling Marlin in 1994 and 1995. I will be providing coverage for 2015 NASCAR Season, with pre-race reports, and post-race reports as well. With that being said here is my 2015 Daytona 500 pre-race report, let me know what you think in the comment section below. Be sure to follow my live Daytona 500 coverage on my Twitter (@TrentA_Brinkley) starting on 1pm.

Miscellaneous Daytona 500 Stats:

– Only 3 Drivers have won two consecutive Daytona 500 victories 

– Only 7 Daytona 500 Winners have won the race from the Pole Position

– Only 7 Drivers have had their 1st Career Win at the Daytona 500

– Chevy has the most Daytona 500 wins with 23, and Ford has the second most with 13

– Jeff Gordon has most active-driver Daytona 500 victories with 3 Daytona 500 wins


 Starting Grid:    57th Daytona 500

Row 1:  Jeff Gordon            Jimmie Johnson

Row 2:  Dale Earnhardt Jr.  Matt Crafton*

Row 3:  Joey Logano            Carl Edwards

Row 4:  Tony Stewart          Greg Biffle

Row 5:  Clint Bowyer           Martin Truex Jr.

Row 6:  Kevin Harvick         Ryan Blaney

Row 7:  Kasey Khane           Reed Sorenson

Row 8: Jamie McMurray      Mike Wallace

Row 9:  Landon Cassill        Justin Allgaier 

Row 10: Cole Whitt              Danica Patrick 

Row 11: Paul Menard          Ryan Newman 

Row 12: Michael McDowell  Regan Smith* 

Row 13: J.J. Yeley              David Gilliland

Row 14: Michael Annett      David Ragan 

Row 15: Kyle Larson           Austin Dillon

Row 16: Ty Dillon               Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Row 17: Aric Almirola        Michael Waltrip 

Row 18: Matt Kenseth        Johnny Sauter 

Row 19: Trevor Bayne       Sam Hornish Jr. 

Row 20: Brad Keselowski   AJ Allmendinger

Row 21: Casey Mears         Denny Hamiln 

Row 22:          Bobby Labonte


My 2015 Daytona 500 Favorites

Photo by ESPN

Photo by ESPN

                 Jeff Gordon

– 3 Daytona 500 Victories

– Daytona Stats: 13 Top 5’s  20 Top 10’s

(AP Photo/Mike McCarn)

(AP Photo/Mike McCarn)

                Joey Logano 

– Average Finish: 20th Place

– 2 Top 5’s  3 Top 10’s  7 Laps Led


Kevin Liles, USA TODAY Sports

           Kevin Liles, USA TODAY Sports

                           Jimmie Johnson

– Average Daytona 500 Finish: 18th Place

– 3 Wins  9 Top 5’s  12 Top 10’s  15 Top 20’s  186 Laps Led


                     My Darkhorse Favorite:

Jason Smith/Getty Images

Jason Smith/Getty Images

                         Matt Crafton 

– Camping World Truck Series Career:  5 Wins    192 Top 10’s   7 Pole Positions 

– Won back-to-back NCWTS Championships (2013, 2014)

– Crafton holds the record for the most consecutive Truck Series starts by an active driver.


Upcoming Work in February

The Final Preview of the American League Divisions (2/22/15)A preview of our NCAA March Madness Tournament Bracket Challenge (2/27/15)HS Hoops Interview: Colonial Forge Women’s Basketball Senior Bri Sullivan (2/28/15)

Social Media Headquarters:

– Twitter: @TrentA_Brinkley

– Instagram: @Trent_Brinkley17

– Facebook:



Be Sociable, Share! Tumblr



Post Tagged with , , , , , , ,

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top
There are no products